pieces of goodbye

there are people you’ll meet
your soul mates, if you like
that burrow into your heart
make a home for themselves in your chest

and when you left
it was like ripping the tag from a shirt
leaving a hole in my heart
that’s just your size

I remember your words
had already cut your ties to me
and you’d already emotionally left
but you still stood there in my room

I don’t know what you wanted me to say
but nothing came to mind
and I couldn’t look at you
so I finally released you, told you to go

when the front door closed I didn’t move
no tears, no thoughts
just sat on my bed staring at the carpet
my hands resting against my belly

I had planned to tell you, darling
when you showed up at my house
an early arrival from the perpetually late
but before I could speak, you left me

and now when I think of it
I think it’s better you never knew
because I had to get through it by myself
and now I am unstoppable

2 comments

  1. samuelbartholomew · January 24, 2016

    Holy shiznet. This poem hit me like a ton of bricks. It’s so emotional. Wow. Hey, for whatever it’s worth, you win my “poem of the day” award :). Awesome work here. I really hope to see you around.

    Like

    • cokikay · January 24, 2016

      thank you so much! It means the world that it impacted you. thanks for reading!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

