steady, steady

hold, hold the air, my lungs
contain it just one more breath
calm, calm yourself, my stomach
soothe the butterflies a little longer

this is my memory of the moment
your eyes shifted to my mouth
and I knew all at once
that you were about to lean in

steady, steady there, my hands
be sure just a moment more
slow, slow it down, my heart
don’t race away on me now

my cheeks were burning
because you knew I knew
and when your lips touched mine
I could feel you smiling

Leave a Reply

