mornings with you

spent the dawn surrounded by pillows
my lips touching the inside of your wrist
breathing the smoke of your heartbeat
your hands running through my hair

the scent of coffee opened my eyes
and we curled together in the blankets
curling our hands around warm mugs
and sharing caffeine kisses

we spent the day bathed in sunlight
my cheek against your chest
your fingertips dancing along the back of my neck
and our legs in a tangle of touch

when I wake up to your eyes on my face
I carry it with me all day
like a pilot flame in a fireplace
or a sparkle in the eye

 

One comment

  1. Maya · November 30, 2015

    Beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

